Valli A. Kirk Foundation
May 4th in College Football by .

BOTTOM TEN: Boise State’s “QB Jinx” Shared with Nine Other D-1 Teams

There has been a lot of chatter about Kellen Moore going to the NFL and possibly becoming the first QB in school history to take a snap during regular season in the league.   So how many other schools are in the same position as Boise State?

There are 120 teams in the NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision, and 110 of them have avoided the “QB jinx” of the NFL. With the exception of 10 teams, all these schools have had a quarterback from their program play the quarterback position in the NFL for at least one snap during a regular season game. 

This list has been prepared by the research team at (yes, the same braintrust that selected the first ever All-Time All-Idaho Football Team). If there are errors please let us know at

 Air Force Falcons
 Akron Zips Charlie Frye
 Alabama Crimson Tide Joe Namath
 Arizona Wildcats Bill Demory
 Arizona State Sun Devils Jake Plummer
 Arkansas Razorbacks Joe Ferguson
 Arkansas State Red Wolves Cleo Lemon
 Army Black Knights Arnie Galiffa
 Auburn Tigers Cam Newton
 Ball State Cardinals
 Baylor Bears Cotton Davidson
 Boise State Broncos
 Boston College Eagles Doug Flutie
 Bowling Green Falcons Mark Miller
 Brigham Young Cougars Jim McMahon
 Buffalo Bulls John Stofa
 California Golden Bears Aaron Rodgers
 Central Michigan Chippewas Gary Hogeboom
 Cincinnati Bearcats Tony Pike
 Clemson Tigers Charlie Whitehurst
 Colorado Buffaloes Kordell Stewart
 Colorado State Rams Caleb Hanie
 Connecticut Huskies Dan Orlovsky
 Duke Blue Devils Sonny Jurgensen
 East Carolina Pirates Jeff Blake
 Eastern Michigan Eagles Charlie Batch
 Florida Gators Tim Tebow
 Florida Atlantic Owls Rusty Smith
 Florida International Golden Panthers
 Florida State Seminoles Christian Ponder
 Fresno State Bulldogs David Carr
 Georgia Bulldogs Matt Stafford
 Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Mike Kelley
 Hawaii Warriors June Jones
 Houston Cougars Kevin Kolb
 Idaho Vandals John Friesz
 Illinois Fighting Illini Tony Eason
 Indiana Hoosiers Trent Green
 Iowa Hawkeyes Chuck Long
 Iowa State Cyclones Seneca Wallace
 Kansas Jayhawks John Hadl
 Kansas State Wildcats Steve Grogan
 Kent State Golden Flashes
 Kentucky Wildcats Babe Parelli
 Louisiana Ragin Cajuns Jake Delhomme
 Louisiana State Tigers YA Tittle
 Louisiana Tech Bulldogs Terry Bradshaw
 Louisiana-Monroe Warhawks Stan Humphries
 Louisville Cardinals Johnny Unitas
 Marshall Thundering Herd Chad Pennington
 Maryland Terrapins Boomer Eisiasen
 Memphis Tigers Steve Matthews
 Miami Hurricanes Vinnie Testaverde
 Miami Redhawks Ben Rothlisberger
 Michigan Wolverines Tom Brady
 Michigan State Spartans Earl Morral
 Middle Tennessee State Blue Raiders Jonathan Quinn
 Minnesota Gophers Cory Sauter
 Mississippi State Bulldogs Joe Reed
 Missouri Tigers Blaine gabbert
 Navy Midshipmen Roger Staubach
 Nebraska Cornhuskers Vince Ferragamo
 Nevada Wolf Pack Colin Kapernik
 New Mexico Lobos Stoney Case
 New Mexico State Aggies Joe Pisarcik
 North Carolina Tar Heels T.J. Yates
 North Carolina State Wolfpack Philip Rivers
 North Texas Mean Green
 Northern Illinois Huskies
 Northwestern Wildcats Otto Graham
 Notre Dame Fighting Irish Joe Montana
 Ohio Bobcats Robert Snyder
 Ohio State Buckeyes Art Schlichter
 Oklahoma Sooners Troy Aikman
 Oklahoma State Cowboys Zac Robinson
 Ole Miss Rebels Archie Manning
 Oregon Ducks Dan Fouts
 Oregon State Beavers Derek Anderson
 Penn State Nittany Lions Chuck Fusina
 Pittsburgh Panthers Dan Marino
 Purdue Boilermakers Mike Phipps
 Rice Owls Tommy Kramer
 Rutgers Scarlet Knights Mike McMahon
 San Diego State Aztecs Brian Sipe
 San Jose State Spartans Steve Deberg
 SMU Mustangs Don Meredith
 South Carolina Gamecocks Anthony Wright
 South Florida Bulls
 Southern Miss Golden Eagles Brett Farve
 Stanford Cardinal John Elway
 Syracuse Orange Donavan McNabb
 Temple Owls Tim Riordan
 Tennessee Volunteers Peyton Manning
 Texas Longhorns Vince Young
 Texas A&M Aggies Jerrod Johnson
 Texas Christian Horned Frogs Andy Dalton
 Texas Tech Red Raiders Billie Joe Tolliver
 Toledo Rockets Bruce Gradkowski
 Troy Trojans Levi Brown
 Tulane Green Wave Bubbie Brister
 Tulsa Golden Hurricane Gus Ferrotte
 UAB Blazers Joe Webb
 UCF Knights Dante Culpepper
 UCLA Bruins Gary Beban
 UNLV Rebels Randall Cunningham
 USC Trojans Pat Haden
 Utah Utes Scott Mitchell
 Utah State Aggies Eric Hipple
 UTEP Miners Jordan Palmer
 Vanderbilt Commodores Billy Wade
 Virginia Cavaliers Aaron Brooks
 Virginia Tech Hokies Mike Vick
 Wake Forest Demon Deacons Norm Snead
 Washington Huskies Warren Moon
 Washington State Cougars Ryan Leaf
 West Virginia Mountaineers Marc Bulger
 Western Kentucky Hilltoppers
 Western Michigan Broncos Ed Chlebek
 Wisconsin Badgers Arnie Herber
 Wyoming Cowboys

NOTES: The QBs on this list were chosen by random preference, most schools have multiple…Wyoming Cowboy Jim Kiick threw some passes for Miami, but that doesn’t count….Wyoming was close with Casey Bramlett, but no snaps…Ball State was close in 2009 with Nate Davis, and Kent State was close in 1999 with Nate’s older brother Jose Davis…Arizona is surprisingly weak on NFL QBs…Hawaii is a stretch, but June Jones did throw 14 passes there before transferring to Portland State…2012 Mr. Irrelevent Chandler Harnish could break the streak for Northern Illinois.

Can Kellen break the BSU NFL QB jinx?